Not My Time

Dear all,

Election Week at San Jose State has now concluded, and likewise, the end to our long journey has arrived. The Spartan community has spoken, and has done so clearly through their vote. Several hours ago, I had the chance to congratulate Eric Medrano on being the next Director of Internal Affairs for a student government that represents a school we both care deeply about.

In an election as fast paced and rapid as this one, his ability to gather the masses through a word of mouth movement — while doing so under intense pain from his injury– is something that I can admire and respect.

His prior experience as Director of Students Rights and Responsibilities will be of great assistance to him during the one-year term. That being said, should he seek it, I will do all in my power to help Eric in representing the student body.

I urge all Spartans who supported me to join me in not just congratulating him, but offering our next Director of Internal Affairs our earnest efforts to find ways of increasing transparency, of increasing commuter involvement, and of increasing campus unity, so that future Spartans will enter a much better campus than the one we entered into.

It is natural tonight that there will be disappointment, but we must move beyond that and work together towards expanding, rebranding, and understanding what each person’s role within this campus is.

And though we fell short, the failure is mine and mine alone.

For all you have done for me through your support and vote: thank you. You welcomed me with a beautiful smile. You welcomed me with an open mind. You welcomed me with great care. You welcomed me with love. For those gestures and so much more, I thank you all, from the bottom of my heart.

As I have told many of you throughout this campaign, “If it is meant to be, then it will be.” This campaign was and will remain the most fun endeavor of my life. Today, I was a candidate for one of the most underrated campuses that I deeply love. And tonight, I remain as one of her proud Spartans. For how far I have come, this has truly been a blessing, and I thank the San Jose State community for that.

Thank you.

All the very best,

Thi Tran

Leave a Reply

